Deeply concerned and distressed, I raise my voice against the increasing tensions in the Persian Gulf and the Sea of Oman, and express my opposition to war against Iran and the extensive propaganda aimed at justifying it.

The Trump administration has unilaterally withdrawn from Iran Nuclear Deal in violation of UN Resolution 2231 and is now dispatching, under the guise of protecting the Strait of Hormuz waterways, additional forces to the Persian Gulf and instigating the European Union to become an active partner in the war against Iran. But it is clear that the waterway in the Persian Gulf and the Sea of Oman only can be protected through the cooperation of regional states and not through increasing tensions.

I, as a peace-loving citizen of the world, call upon the United States and EU governments to:

1. Recognize Iran’s right to national sovereignty and territorial integrity in accordance with the United Nation’s Charter and other international laws. Only the Iranian people have the right to choose their own government and political leaders.

2. Refrain from repeated violation of international law, which the whole world is witnessing with regard to direct and extraterritorial sanctions against Iran, and avert additional damages to international institutions and world peace.

3. Officially and promptly announce that they will not start a war against Iran under any circumstances, and that they would refrain from taking any military, financial, logistical and informational steps aimed at instigating a war with Iran.

4. Refrain from dispatching their navy ships, sending weapons and causing tensions in the region.

5. Take all necessary steps to lift economic sanctions against Iran.

6. Actively support the ongoing negotiations in New York, commenced in November 2018, to establish a region free of weapons of mass destruction in the Middle and Near East.


  • Ervand Abaramian, Professor Emeritus, City University of New York (USA)
  • Bahman Azad, Executive Secretary, U.S. Peace Council (USA)
  • Ajamu Baraka, National Organizer, Black Alliance for Peace (USA)
  • Hamid Beheschti, journalist (Germany)
  • Medea Benjamin, founder, CODEPINK (USA)
  • Volker Bräutigam, journalist (Germany)
  • Gerry Condon, President, Veterans For Peace (USA)
  • Mostafa Danesh, journalist, writer and war reporter (USA)
  • Elias Davidsson, composer and writer (Germany) († April 2022)
  • Darien De Lu, President, US Section Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (USA)
  • Anneliese Fikentscher, chair of the Federal Association of Workers' Photography (Germany)
  • Sara Flounders, Co-Coordinator, International Action Center (USA)
  • Margaret Flowers, Co-Coordinator, Popular Resistance (USA)
  • Bruce K. Gagnon, Secretary/Coordinator, Global Network Against Weapons & Nuclear Power in Space (USA)
  • Daniele Ganser, Director of the Swiss Institute for Peace and Energy Research (Switzerland)
  • Wolf Gauer, filmmaker and journalist (Brazil)
  • Joachim Guilliard, journalist and peace activist (Germany)          
  • Mohammad Haghighat, political activist (Germany)
  • Klaus Hartmann, federal chairman of the German Freethinkers Association (Germany)
  • Ardeshir Jamneshan, political activist (Germany)
  • Wolfgang Jung, publisher of LUFTPOST (Germany)
  • Sima Kassaie-Van Ooyen, journalist and peace activist (Germany)
  • Peter Klemm, journalist and peace activist (Germany)
  • Patrik Köbele, chairman of the German Communist Party (DKP) (Germany)
  • Peter Koenig, economist and geopolitical analyst (Switzerland)
  • Joe Lombardo, Co-Coordinator, United National Antiwar Coalition (USA)
  • Alfred Marder, President, U.S. Peace Council (USA)
  • Mohsen Massarrat, Professor Emeritus, University of Osnabruck; member of the Academic Council of Attac and IPPNW in Germany; Researcher in the areas of international political Economic, oil and energy, and the Middle East (Germany)
  • Morteza Mohit, writer and political analyst (USA)
  • Amir Mortasawi, journalist and peace activist (Germany)
  • Andreas Neumann, editors of the Neue Rheinische Zeitung (NRhZ) (Germany)
  • Norman Paech, Emeritus Professor of Political Science and Public Law (Germany)
  • Muhammad Sahimi, NIOC Chair in Petroleum Engineering and Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, USC (USA)
  • Veronika Thomas-Ohst, chair of Euregioprojekt-Frieden e.V. (Germany)
  • Willy Wahl, publisher of Seniora.org (Switzerland)
  • Jens Wernicke, publisher of the online magazine Rubikon (Germany)
  • Mohammad Zahedi, political activist (France)
  • Kevin Zeese, Co-Coordinator, Popular Resistance (USA) († September 6, 2020)

The list of all other signers

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.